Introducing Me

Growing up, I have to say I was the biggest Disney Channel Fan! I saw every movie they ever made.

There was this particular one, “Camp rock 2:Final Jam” and there was this guy that had a thing for this girl and decided that making up a four minute song to introduce himself was a step in the right direction (it totally worked by the way)

So now, fast forward to a few years after seeing this movie, Here I am, in his shoes(not quite but you know what I mean) about to make up a four minute read to introduce myself to you all.

My name is Eden Femi-Olowoyo. I am a BELIEVER. I am also a Nigerian (Yoruba-Edo girl). My family and the friends God has blessed me with, mean so much to me. Now I’m going to bore you with random facts about me;

I am 18 years old, but according to the “very reliable internet” my mental age is 46. I don’t know how to feel about that.

I recently found out I’m 5ft2, which came as a shock to me because I thought I was taller 😂 but I’ve made my peace with it.

I can’t stand beans and I’m always on a diet(never works btw) 🤦‍♀️. I don’t believe in zodiac signs but when I come across a post involving them, I always check mine out(hypocrite? Maybe)

And finally, I have brown eyes and I can’t get through a busy day without making a ‘To Do List’

I am currently in my final year in the University of Medical Sciences, Ondo, where I study Anatomy. I do intend to get my second degree in Medicine and Surgery after I graduate.

Why did I start this blog?

For the longest time, writing has been my escape, I wrote my first song at the age of 6 (I don’t know which was my first love, writing or music?) and since then, a pen and paper became a diary, and a diary became a journal and a journal became Wattpad novel( let’s not get into that lol). After that, I just kind of wrote everything and anything and kept them locked away in the ‘notes’ app of my phone. I would occasionally show a fraction of them to my contacts via my story/status and I would in turn get really good reviews but that never made me want to put myself out there a little more, it just made me get even harder on myself and want my writing to be ‘perfect’—whatever that meant.

A lot of people had told me to start a blog for a while now but it was NEVER an option for me,until I had a very interesting WhatsApp conversation with a friend of mine and as I kept typing and typing in response to his very valid pressing questions, I got inspired. I literally heard in my head “Eden,people need to see this” And as impulsive as I can be, I immediately came online to find out how to open a blog and then Proverbs 3:5-6 came out to convict me

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct your paths.”

So right then and there, I turned my phone off and asked God if it was the right step to take.

In David’s words, “Should I pursue?”

I got my go ahead but then I stopped right in my tracks.

“What am I doing? I’m not ready for this.” My questions,as many as they were(and still are) sent me into a panic attack and I could feel my stomach tying itself into knots and my heart jumping rope and skipping several beats, aaaaand cue the tears.

”Why am I so afraid?” and after what felt like forever I heard God tell me that through an analogy that I’ll share here later that the issue wasn’t fear as much as it was pride.

“Pride? If I was proud I’d have started this blog as soon as I got inspired to and not wait so long. If I was proud I would have entered one of the many writing competitions I was told to. If I was proud I wouldn’t be so afraid to just start a simple blog” I said in response.

But He didn’t change His mind and I decided to listen. After our conversation, I realized that it takes more humility to make mistakes and grow from them in the ‘public eye’ than behind the four walls of your room.

I always opted for the latter because I really didn’t need anyone see me fall and stumble and all of that plus it was very comfortable and as much as I always sang “I’m not perfect” I always wanted to appear perfect.

That’s why I never posted any of my write ups till I was sure it was ‘perfection’, that’s why I never put up a picture of me until I had spent hours deciding which one looked the least flawed, that’s why I never talked to anyone when I needed help or was vulnerable but only talked about it when I was passed it or at least moving passed it, because it seemed stronger to talk about a hard time in the past tense than in the present, oh how wrong I was.

I began to see my patterns as He opened my eyes to them and I was amazed. I realized that starting this blog would be bearing myself bare to “the world”. No filters, no edits, just me.

And,here we are!!!

I wish I could say that I am starting this blog to inspire, change the world and all that good stuff (these are things that will definitely,by God’s grace happen through this blog) but right now, I really am doing this for me first. I need this as much as anyone else who will find this blog and let it become a light for them in this dark world.

I intend to share honestly with you all on my faith, challenges in school and life( and how to navigate through), deepest thoughts(or even just random ones lol)

I really don’t know what this journey is going to be like, but I am so excited.

Haha, I guess it wasn’t a four minute read after all or maybe it was.

Thank you for reading and hopefully joining me on this journey! ❤️

Published by edendelight

Faith| Poetry| Lifestyle| Diary

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started